HomeNews'Everything Everywhere All At Once' Dominates Top Film Prizes at Independent Spirit...

‘Everything Everywhere All At Once’ Dominates Top Film Prizes at Independent Spirit Awards

Everything Everywhere All at Once swept the movie categories at yesterday’s Independent Spirit Awards, including the ceremony’s top prize, Best Feature. During the award show’s 38th edition, the metaverse-set absurdist comedy-drama was honored with seven wins, which solidified its status as the frontrunner going into the Academy Awards ceremony next Sunday, March 12, Deadline is reporting.

The film, which was written and directed by Daniel Kwan and Daniel Scheinert, went into the Spirit Awards’ daytime ceremony, which was held on the beach at the Santa Monica Pier, with a leading eight nominations. Everything Everywhere All at Once was honored with trophies for three of its stars – Michelle Yeoh, Ke Huy Quan and Stephanie Hsu – in the awards’ inaugural gender-neutral performance categories across film and TV. Four of the five gender-neutral categories were won by women during the ceremony.

Everything Everywhere All at Once also won for The Daniels’ helming and screenplay. The movie was also recognized for Paul Rogers’ editing.

Among the films nominated yesterday at the Spirit Awards, three features are also in the Oscar Best Picture race: Everything Everywhere All at Once; Focus Features’ Tár and Orion/United Artists Releasing’s Women Talking. Tár won for Florian Hoffmeister’s cinematography, and Women Talking was honored with Film Independent’s Robert Altman Award, which is given to a movie’s helmer, casting director and ensemble cast.

Other movie winners included Best First Film for Charlotte Wells’ Aftersun, which, along with the Everything Everywhere All at Once‘s trophies, gave distributor A24 a leading eight wins at the ceremony. The Best First Screenplay award went to John Patton Ford for Emily the Criminal. Venice Golden Lion winner All the Beauty and the Bloodshed was recognized as Best Documentary. Pakistan’s Joyland was named as Best International Film.

In the television categories, FX’s The Bear won Best New Scripted Series. The comedy-drama show’s co-star, Ayo Edebiri was recognized for Best Supporting Performance.

Abbott Elementary‘s Quinta Brunson picked up another win during this television awards season. She was the pick for the Best Lead Performance in a New Scripted Series honor.

Here’s the full list of winners for the 2023 Film Independent Spirit Awards:

Best Feature: Everything Everywhere All at Once

Best Lead Performance: Michelle Yeoh, Everything Everywhere All at Once

Best Lead Performance in a New Scripted Series: Quinta Brunson, Abbott Elementary

Best Director: Daniel Kwan & Daniel Scheinert, Everything Everywhere All at Once

John Cassavetes Award: The Cathedral; Writer-Director: Ricky D’Ambrose; Producer: Graham Swon

Best First Feature: Aftersun; Director: Charlotte Wells; Producers: Mark Ceryak, Amy Jackson, Barry Jenkins and Adele Romanski

Robert Altman Award: Women Talking; Director: Sarah Polley; Casting Directors: John Buchan and Jason Knight; Ensemble Cast: Shayla Brown, Jessie Buckley, Claire Foy, Kira Guloien, Kate Hallett, Judith Ivey, Rooney Mara, Sheila McCarthy, Frances McDormand, Michelle McLeod, Liv McNeil, Ben Whishaw and August Winter

Producers Award: Tory Lenosky

Best Breakthrough Performance: Stephanie Hsu, Everything Everywhere All At Once

Someone to Watch Award: Nikyatu Jusu, Nanny

Best Cinematography: Florian Hoffmeister, Tár

Best Editing: Paul Rogers, Everything Everywhere All At Once

Best New Non-Scripted or Documentary Series: The Rehearsal; Creator/Executive Producer: Nathan Fielder; Executive Producers: Dave Paige, Dan McManu and, Christie Smith; Co-Executive Producers: Carrie Kemper and Eric Notarnicola

Truer Than Fiction Award: Reid Davenport, I Didn’t See You There

Best New Scripted Series: The Bear; Creator-Executive Producer: Christopher Storer; Executive Producers: Joanna Calo, Josh Senior and Hiro Murai; Co-Executive Producer: Rene Gube

Best Ensemble Cast in a New Scripted Series: Pachinko; Ensemble Cast: Soji Arai, Jin Ha, Inji Jeong, Minha Kim, Kaho Minami, Lee Minho, Steve Sanghyun Noh, Anna Sawai, Jimmi Simpson and Yuh-jung Youn

Best Screenplay: Daniel Kwan and Daniel Scheinert, Everything Everywhere All At Once

Best First Screenplay: John Patton Ford, Emily the Criminal

Best International Film: Joyland; Pakistan/USA; Director: Saim Sadiq

Best Supporting Performance In a New Scripted Series: Ayo Edebiri, The Bear

Best Documentary: All the Beauty and the Bloodshed; Director-Producer: Laura Poitras; Producers: Howard Gertler, Nan Goldin, Yoni Golijov and John Lyons

Best Supporting Performance (Film): Ke Huy Quan, Everything Everywhere All at Once

Check out more of Karen Benardello’s articles.

Karen Benardello
Karen Benardellohttps://cinemadailyus.com
As a life-long fan of films and television shows, and an endless passion for writing, Karen Benardello decided to combine the two for a career. She graduated from New York's LIU Post with a B.F.A in Journalism, Print and Electronic in 2008. Karen has since been working in the press in New York City, including interviewing film and television casts and crews, writing movie and television news articles and reviewing films and televisions series. Some of her highlights include attending such local events as the Tribeca Film Festival, the New York Film Festival and New York Comic-Con, as well as traveling across North America to attend such festivals as the Sundance Film Festival, SXSW and the Toronto International Film Festival. She has been a member of the Women Film Critics Circle since 2012, and the New York Film Critics Online since 2019.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

- Advertisment -

Most Popular

Recent Comments